Municipal Governments

Grand County has six Municipal Governments. Municipalities include statutory cities and towns, home rule municipalities and consolidated governments. Five of the six Municipalities are statutory towns: Fraser, Granby, Grand Lake, Hot Sulphur Springs, and Kremmling. Winter Park is considered a home rule municipality.

Organization & Structure 

There are about 19,000 Municipalities in the United States and 272 in Colorado. Municipalities provide a broad range of services similar to that of a county through Town Councils or a Board of Trustees.

Town Councils: Under this form of government, the Town Council consisting of the Mayor and six members primarily address policy matters, and a Manager implements and administers the Council's policies. The Mayor and other Council members are elected. The Mayor presides over Town Council meetings and has the same voting powers as other board members. However, a town may adopt an ordinance that limits the voting powers of a Mayor.

Board of Trustees: Statutory Towns are governed by a Board of Trustees that consists of a Mayor and up to six trustees. The Mayor and members of the Board of Trustees are elected. The Mayor presides over the Board of Trustees meetings and has the same voting powers as other board members. However, a town may adopt an ordinance that limits the voting powers of a Mayor. The Board of Trustees is required to appoint a Clerk, Treasurer, and Town Attorney, or adopt an ordinance that provides for the election of these offices. The Clerk is the custodian of municipal records. The Board may also appoint a Town Administrator or Manager to oversee staff and the daily operations of the Town. Terms of the Mayor and Trustees are usually two years, unless an ordinance is adopted to extend the terms to four years. 

Services & Responsibilities

Home Rule Municipalities: Becoming a Home Rule Municipality is a process that must be approved by voters. If approved, this allows a Municipality to form their own set of laws also known as a charter that can override conflicting state laws when appropriate. A home rule charter provides a town with the greatest authority to regulate local matters. The charter identifies the municipality's powers, the structure of government, terms of elected offices, budget and election procedures, procedures for initiative and referendum of measures, and the process for the recall of officers. 

Statutory Towns: State law provides statutory cities and towns with a broad range of powers to address the needs of their citizens through self-government, including administrative, police, and financial powers. Administrative powers enable municipalities to fill vacancies in offices, appoint a board of health, and provide ambulance, hospital, and other services. Police powers enable municipalities to enforce local laws, as well as enact measures to preserve and protect the safety, health, and welfare of the community. Statutes or laws provide municipalities additional powers to finance municipal activities. Municipalities are also granted significant authority to manage land use and growth.